Profile image for SarahMH95

For those that read the Tavistock Times frequently, I'm sure will have been led to believe that every youth in Tavistock is a binge drinking plant pot stealing hooligan. I wish to state that this is NOT the case. I'm a Sixth Form student at Tavistock College and am extraordinarily hurt by the way in which myself and my peers are treated locally. I've been forced to remove bags before entering supermarkets purely because I'm not an adult. Passers by in the street will not look me in the eye, despite efforts to smile at my fellow citizens of Tavistock. How can one then begrudge the youth of Tavistock for misbehaving - we recieve little to no recognition when we do succeed. The majority of my peers are conscientious young men and women, the majority of which are holding down part time jobs despite being in full time education and having busy social lives, proving themselves to be hardworking and significant members of our society. People of Tavistock, please do remember that us teenagers are not all bad, in fact: it is only a very small minority that are.

By SarahMH95 at 17:24 on 20/04/12

Re-post           

• Profile image for chipperx

Very well said Sarah!

By chipperx at 18:43 on 20/04/12

• Profile image for star2sparkle

I agree with you Sarah as I have three teenagers who are also very decent young people. However, you mentioned you all have part-time jobs and I'm afraid to say that I don't think that's right for it is depriving families of jobs. I recognise how hard you work but it is really wrong that adults can't get part-time jobs because the youngsters have nabbed them! I wonder about wages and also whether employers think they can take advantage of youngsters, to be honest.

By star2sparkle at 19:18 on 20/04/12

Although I have just heard that many of the lower sixth spend a lot of their time throwing a ball around the Octagon?!

By star2sparkle at 19:25 on 20/04/12

• Profile image for SarahMH95